July 14, 2024

Naija Super 8: Play-off finalists to get N2m each

2 min read

Naija Super 8 organisers, Flykite Productions, have announced that the 12 clubs that have qualified for tournament’s zonal play-offs will be given the sum of N2 million each to assist them in their travel and logistical plans.

This was disclosed in a statement issued by the organisers on Friday. The statement quoted Jenkins Alumona, Managing Director of Flykite Productions, as saying that the N2 million is in fulfilment of the organisers’ promise to subsidise the travel of the participating clubs to Eket, where the play-offs are scheduled to be held from 23-25 June.

Flykite Productions, the statement added, will be responsible for feeding and accommodation of players and officials of every team.

“Each of the 12 clubs participating in the Naija Super 8 zonal play-offs will be given the sum of N2 million as travel and logistic subsidy,” Alumona stated.

Last Friday, teams for the play-offs were unveiled at a ceremony in Lagos. This followed the release of the results of the fan voting exercise, which was authenticated by Deloitte, the globally-renowned firm of auditors. The voting phase delivered 1, 926, 495.

Two teams with the highest vote tallies in each geo-political zone qualified for the play-offs, where they will play knockout games to determine six qualifiers for the finals. They will be joined by two wildcard entries, determined by the organisers, at the finals scheduled for the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Lagos from 7-16 July.

Also at the ceremony, mentors for the eventual eight finalists were unveiled. They are ex-internationals Augustine Eguavoen, Mutiu Adepoju, Garba Lawal, Ike Shorunmu, Julius Aghahowa, Tijani Babangida and Victor Ezeji.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *